Happy solstice!

Yay, the longest day of the year! I love Litha, and that it’s in the weekend is very fortunate (though I usually celebrate sabbats in the weekend). I’ve got some wonderful things planned, cause now I actually have time on the solstice itself!

For me, most important is being outdoors as long as possible during midsummer. It won’t be nice weather, but I hope it at least stays dry. Or that it only starts raining when I’m back and can enjoy the rainfall from inside or from our balcony rather than from my bike. I would have planned to go walking during Litha, but coincidentally we (colleagues and I) are celebrating the end of the school year. And we’re going rowing! I think the last time I was in a canoe was when I was 11 or something like that, during a very rainy vacation near the Loire (France). My mother and brother went to the middle of the river, decided it was too scary and went back, but my dad and I had the best time! So I’m really looking forward to canoeing again with friends. It’s bound to be hilarious… and difficult, probably.

Going on the water tomorrow and remembering the rainy vacation in France really made me wonder about Litha symbolism. I mainly celebrate the warmth of the sun, using yellows, reds and oranges on my altar. But earlier this week I saw a video by Pagyptian, one of the people I follow on YouTube, about Litha and water, as opposed to fire. It really made me think, so I’d like to share it with you.

It makes sense, doesn’t it? We need the balance of water to keep the fire from burning us. And thinking of summer activities, going to the beach is probably one of the most prominent ones. I was inspired, so my altar now has reds and yellows, but also some sea shells πŸ™‚ I’m also making a sun out of red and yellow paper and skewers. It’s currently drying, but when it’s finished and turned out well, I’ll make a post on how to make it. I really like the effect the skewers give as sunrays.

As always, food is a rather large part of my celebration. I had planned to try and make small pineapple upside down cakes, but my pineapple isn’t ripe yet. So I’ll make banana bread and a mango-nectarine salad (love soft summer fruits!). I’ve got cherries as well πŸ™‚ Bottom line is that I’ll be eating wonderfully sweet fruits all day an that I’ll be enjoying the longest day! What do you have planned for midsummer?

 

4 Responses to “Happy solstice!”

  1. Holland & Flannery Says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed your Litha post and we fully agree with the observations on the relationship between the fire and water elements at this time. Wishing you a bright and beautiful Midsummer.

  2. Silverleaf Says:

    Lovely and I like your food ideas (even if the pineapple didn’t cooperate). We spent much of the day outside, or otherwise beside open windows. We played tennis, soccer and had a picnic nearby – with sort-of-typical picnic foods: chicken, ribs, a stone fruits coleslaw and an apple-fennel coleslaw. yum! Happy Midsummer πŸ™‚

    • 91juditho Says:

      Playing sports with friends and family really raises energy πŸ™‚ The picknick sounds yum! Especially stone fruits coleslaw. It sounds like you had a great day!


Leave a Reply

