Closing 2013: Happy New Year!

What a year this has been! 2013 is so far the best year of my life. You might be able to guess why: I got married! It was the best day ever and everything was as perfect as can be. The honeymoon was also incredibly fun, cycling through Italy, and it made us realize how much we enjoy an active vacation. So personally an exiting year.

What else has happened? In the course of the Pride and Prejudice bicentenary challenge I have discovered Jane Austen fanfiction and movies/series besides the 2005 version with Keira Knightly. I have succeeded in the afficionada level, reading/watching over 9 books and films. I still have to review Bridget Jones Diaries (book) and the 1980 series, so I hope that won’t take too long, and I have to admit that I am still busy reading the original novel. The challenge has introduced me to fanfiction, and I hope that next year Austenprose will host a Mansfield Park bicentenary challenge!

Like others, the past year has taught me to rely more on my inner judgement. I don’t hold too strongly to paradigms anymore, I don’t feel like doing a ritual a particular way because “that’s the way it’s done”, no, I do it that way because it feels good to me and suits what I want. That goes with other things as well, images or stereotyped gods and goddesses may appear differently when I search for them in my inner landscape. It’s what I hope to continue next year.

Which brings me to my goals for 2014. I don’t make resolutions, because if you want to achieve something, just start immediately, but I do have some goals. In the summer, I hope to participate in a four-day event in Nijmegen which is about walking 40 km, 4 days in a row. My husband will be walking 50 km, that is, if faith decides we are allowed to (there is a maximum of walkers for this event). We have started practicing already, but need to take this up a step.

This is a very clear goal, even with a deadline. Other goals? I hope to finish my master at the university, find a job and if I succeed, we want to look for a house to buy. I am learning knitting, crochet and still want to learn how to sew, so I can make my own stuff and perhaps make some nice gifts. I’m also looking at upcycling and hope to waste less next year.

So, quite some things happened, and I’m hoping to continue a lot that I’ve set in motion this year. What did your year look like? And what do you hope to achieve in 2014? Whatever that may be, I wish you all a good health and happiness in the new year!

One Response to “Closing 2013: Happy New Year!”

  1. Silverleaf Says:

    Happy New Year – and congratulations!


Leave a Reply

