Here comes the light!

Winter Landscape with a Bird Trap

Winter Landscape with a Bird Trap (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The winter solstice has past, meaning the sun is on its return! Though I enjoy being indoors with my husband, cozy and warm in our house, I prefer the days to be longer. Many of you will probably experience the same problems I have getting out of bed in the morning. In summer, I can be up at 7 (not that I do), but in winter I have to get up at 8 and I’m still sluggish at 9. All creatures seem to have that, though, saving energy. When I’m snug in my bed, I can totally imagine retreating for the winter.

But, on the other hand, it’s so nice outside! The most beautiful images of the dawn with the sun so low. When we have snow (which we haven’t had yet and probably only will have in the new year), it’s a winter wonderland outside. It reminds me of paintings by Pieter de Bruegel. I want to go ice skating, build a snowman, throw snowballs and really generally have a good time! Which I will, no matter what.

The best part of Yule and Christmas alike is spending time with your family. Tightening the bonds whilst sitting together by the Christmas tree. Exchanging gifts and (for us) celebrating my grandmother’s birthday. Enjoying the food everyone brought, but not for the food itself, but for it being made by your family and eaten together.

So light the candles and enjoy the season! Brightest blessings!

Leave a Reply

