What happened after the wedding? (P&P challenge #5)

Yes, it has been a while ago! Perhaps I need to find another incentive to blog daily or every other day, like I had when participating in the blogalong. But, today I want to report on another challenge that I’m participating in, namely the Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge. Remember? 2013 marks the 200 year anniversary of Pride and Prejudice, one of Jane Austen‘s most beloved novels (in my opinion, then). Laurel Ann from Austenprose hosts this challenge, and I have committed to the Afficionada level, meaning to read, listen to or watch 9 to 12 Pride and Prejudice related books, series or movies. So far, I’ve done 8 (counting the trilogy by Pamela Aidan as 1), but I have not posted a blog about some of them yet (shame on me). I have reviewed them on Goodreads, though, so it will be a somewhat easy transfer.

We all know that Darcy and Elizabeth are getting married. And, so we like to believe, they live happily ever after, as do Jane and Bingley of course. But Linda Berdoll, with her book ‘Mr Darcy takes a wife’, paints quite a different picture. She vividly paints the circumstances and practices of the time, using a writing style reminiscent of Austen. Content-wise… not so much. Where the original Pride and Prejudice focuses on restrictions and limited physical contact, this novel appears to turn that around. Meet Mr Darcy as an old-fashioned Christian Grey. Admittedly, at times that was enjoyable (hey, what did you expect, Darcy can melt anyone… especially like that :P), but it became a bit vulgar as it continued.

For both the Bennet sisters, it isn’t all marital bliss. Babies and pregnancy can bring all sorts of problems, let alone what advice from their beloved mother or loose sister could do to a happily married couple. Most characters are given quite some depth in the novel, though in a much more explicit way than in the original story. Georgiana gave me quite a surprise, as I believed her to be a shy girl (which indeed she is at the beginning). But I won’t spoil too much for those of you who long to read it yourself. My verdict: certainly entertaining, but I probably won’t read it again.

This week, expect my reviews of Mr Darcy’s Diary and Bridget Jones’s Diary, both journals, but completely different. And what else I might read I still don’t know, I have a plethora of novels on my e-reader in various genres 🙂

Leave a Reply

