What to do with bananas gone black

Yay, lovely sweet bananas! I usually get a whole bunch of them, hoping my husband will be tempted to eat some fruit. Without any results of course. And because I don’t like bananas every day, I’m left with several that keep getting blacker and so sweet I don’t like them anymore. But throwing them away would be a shame!

So last week, with the two blackened bananas left in the fruit basket and things I always have in store, I made banana and chocolate cake. It was wonderfully sweet with a fruity tang, still a bit moist but with a crunch. My entire workgroup enjoyed helping me eat it (cause otherwise my husband and I would’ve eaten it ourselves… completely).

If you have bananas left, search online for a nice recipe, or just try this!

Ingredients:

Ripe bananas (I used two)
Self-raising flour
175 grams of sugar
Milk
1 egg
6 tablespoons of cacao powder
Optional: chopped hazelnuts and chopped chocolate

The procedure is simple. Preheat the oven to 175 degrees centigrade and oil a cake baking tray. Lining the bottom with baking paper makes it easier to get the cake out in the end. Mash the bananas and mix in the sugar, the cacao powder and the egg. Then add self-raising flour until the mixture is sticky but not too wet anymore. If you put in too much, correct with some milk. Mix in the hazelnuts and chocolate if you like. Put the mixture in the baking tray and bake for about 50 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.

Don’t forget to let it cool at least a bit! And enjoy, of course 🙂

2 Responses to “What to do with bananas gone black”

  1. Espirational Says:

    I actually buy bags of bananas from the grocery store that are starting to turn. They are $1 a bag and I mashed them up and freeze them in 1 c. portions, just for this sort of thing. Will have to try your recipe.


Leave a Reply

