Don’t be afraid to show it

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?” 

This quote from Marianne Williamson‘s A Return to Love, though it is also attributed to Nelson Mandela (and is not complete), is my mantra when it comes to sports. It hangs on the wall of the living room and when I feel insecure, I repeat it to myself.  It helps me to let go of tension and realize that every time again, I can play my very best, not holding back or worrying about how I come across to others.

That’s exactly what this is about. Related to sports, mediocrity is common in the Netherlands. If you try to stand out individually, or even as a team, you are shot down (though luckily this is slowly changing). Some people choose to do less than they are capable off, to prevent people from shooting them down. They are not afraid of not making it internationally, no, they are afraid to show what they can do.

Don’t hold yourself back. You are capable of so much more than you show and even than you think. If you put your mind to it, the sky is the limit. So don’t be afraid to show it!

3 Responses to “Don’t be afraid to show it”

  1. Erin Willet Says:

    Great quote. I feel like a lot of people limit themselves but they’re unaware of it. On a different note, the Netherlands were in the finals for the 2010 world cup! I wouldn’t say that classifies as mediocrity!

    • 91juditho Says:

      True, that’s why I wanted to share it. And I didn’t mean a mediocre ranking, more that it almost seems as though the average Dutch person seems to strive more for mediocrity than for excellence… As a nation, we perform quite well in the area of sports 😉 🙂

  2. Silverleaf Says:

    Inspiring! I should read this every day as it works for just about anything in life.


Leave a Reply

