New Year’s Resolutions

2013 has started! I wish you all a very happy new year!

Traditionally, January 1st is the time of the year for people to write resolutions. The beginning of the new year is also the beginning of new habits or the end of the first. Dieting, stopping with nailbiting, quitting smoking, putting more effort in school work… all examples of things people would like to change.I have to admit I’m one of these people: from this day on I will try to eat healthier again and to plan my schoolwork better. My goal: to be finished with school by June 27th – my wedding day! – and to weigh  less than 60 kg by then. Nothing too difficult. In addition, I want to read some more. I’ve set my Goodreads challenge for 2013 on 52 books, so one book a week on average. I still have many books on my shelves I want to read, including classic English and Dutch literature and pagan or mythology related books. Part of my challenge will be to read these books, instead of rereading favourite books.

New year’s resolutions are perfectly OK, and for many people it is easy because it already denotes new beginnings. But for most of the habits people try to lose, any moment is OK to start. Especially with dieting, many people convince themselves they can eat all they want during the holidays, because they will start dieting on January 1st. What nonsense!

If you have things in your life you would like to change, habits to get rid of or weight to lose, start RIGHT NOW. If February starts with you realizing you’ve not done anything, or you have gained weight, don’t give up. Just start again. Habits take time to change, and though the New Year is a good time to start, it is not the only time you can begin to change.

I hope you will all reach your goals for 2013. Good luck and once again: Happy New Year!

One Response to “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Saajida Says:

    Ditto!

    Thanks for the link share 🙂


Leave a Reply

