Pagan e-books

As you already know, I have recently bought an e-reader, mainly to be able to read articles (instead of having to print all of them). After I saw Sammiwitch offer her short story ‘The Magician’ on her blog The Life and Times of a Forever Witch, naturally, I have also been looking at other e-books to put on the reader. Most classic stories are freely available through the Gutenberg organization. They have made many books that do not have copyright on them anymore into e-books, such as Pride and Prejudice (Austen), Pygmalion (Shaw) and Alice in Wonderland (Carroll). These three were already on my e-reader, but there are over 40,000 e-books available! Some of the books are pagan related, mainly about mythology or about religion in Greece and Rome.

Then someone directed me to Smashwords, a great site where anyone can publish their e-books. Looking for free e-books about pagan-related subjects I came across some nice books! A Pagan ABC for kids, a book about Avalon as home of the Fae, some poetry books… Just go to Smashwords and search in the New Age section, or for books with ‘pagan’ in the title. There are some nice fantasy books as well, but beware: the fantasy section has over 150 pages, so you would do good to specify what you want to look at…

Obviously there are many regular books available in e-book format as well, so looking on Amazon, you can search for e-books. In addition I found this article on the blog Pagan Bookworm (which isn’t really posting anything new since 2011, unfortunately), sharing some thoughts on pagan e-books.

So, enjoy reading! I certainly do πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Pagan e-books”

  1. sammiwitch Says:

    Thank you so much for the link. πŸ™‚ Brightest Blessings

  2. The Varied God Says:

    I think you can get Sir James George Frazer’s The Golden Bough as an e-book. It’s long (12 volumes), but nobody ever compiled more information on ancient pagan rituals and stories from every culture than he did.

    • dutchwitch Says:

      I know, I found it with the Gutenberg Project! One of the first books I put on my reader. I’m not sure whether it’s complete, but it seems to be. Thanks for the tip, though πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

