Autumn feelings

Colleges have started again, and since I have started my master, I have extremely little spare time. Almost all I can do is read, read and read some more in order to pass all the subjects at the earliest moment possible. Unfortunately I won’t be able to make a blog post very often, but I will try to keep you informed on what moves me.

As I was sitting in the library yesterday for reading various articles, someone started playing the piano. At the same time I looked outside and saw the storm raging. The sky was dark and I could see the leafs of trees blown in front of the window. On the way home I saw more leafs lying on the ground. I hadn’t noticed all the spiders that have already made a web, but obviously I did now.
All in all I realised it’s almost autumn already, and I’m looking forward to it! It’s always so cosy inside when outside the weather is horrible to be in. In addition autumn means the indoor korfball season is not far away and I like it better than the outdoor season! And autumn means Mabon, thanking the earth for the abundance of food, naturally by preparing dishes that use the fruits of the earth.

I have started thinking of my Mabon celebration. If the weather allows it, I will go picking apples and pears in a nearby orchard. Otherwise we’ll stay at home. For my ritual I know I’m going to do something with candles and the equal day and night in addition to celebrating the harvest. It will be one of the first celebrations where I plan to do a ritual other than just looking at nature and honouring it in silence. I’m really looking forward to it!

2 Responses to “Autumn feelings”

  1. The Varied God Says:

    This was nice, Ms. Witch. When asked to name a favorite season, more people name autumn than any other. They cite all the reasons you do (except maybe observance of Mabon, which I’ll have to read more about). What few realize is that our love of autumn is largely due to the fact that humans are basically Ice Age mammals, evolved to live in the cold, and we feel most comfortable when chilly weather takes over from the heat of summer.

    • dutchwitch Says:

      I usually get the feeling most people like the summer best, but then again, most people don’t like it too hot. So probably most people do have autumn as their favourite season. I don’t know whether the love of autumn comes from our Ice Age heritage, but it sounds reasonable. We do however need to put on clothing to protect ourselves from the rain and cold, so perhaps our bodies are not adapted to the lower temperatures, but we as species are!

  2. Verso Mabon « HyperHouse Says:

    […] Autumn feelings (dutchwitch.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

